Thinking Aloud – Still the biggest photo-blog on Wayang or Chinese Opera in 2014?   Leave a comment


REBLOGGED :- Featured on the Kwong Wah Jit Poh newspaper today
I was featured as one of the photographers for Wayang or Chinese Opera in the Kwong Wah Jit Poh newspaper supplement today – Sunday, 3 August 2014. My other photography buddy, Ch’ng Shi P’ng was also featured. I was educated completely in English and Malay languages in my younger days, I do not know what was written and I need to get a translation of this article. When I switched to digital photography about 8 years back and also after my retirement, I took up photography more passionately than in my younger days when I use film photography. The taking of a single subject in the tens and hundreds is now a reality without incurring additional costs as a roll of film has only 36 exposures and quite costly to buy and develop later. Now, the initial cost is the purchase of the SD and CF cards and of course after the purchase of the DSLR camera. I want to capture the essence of the moment thus necessary to ” machine-gun ” away at the shutter and I also like to take HDR photos with a larger range of spectrum of colours and shades. Well, I recommend to the recently retired to take photography as a hobby as I find it challenging, useful and sometimes productive as can get some pocket-money in the effort.

SP Lim
Extracted from Wikipedia :-Chinese opera (simplified Chinese: 戏曲; traditional Chinese: 戲曲; pinyin: xìqǔ; Jyutping: hei3kuk1; Pe̍h-ōe-jī: hì-khek) is a popular form of drama and musical theatre in China with roots going back to the early periods in China. It is a composite performance art that is an amalgamation of various art forms that existed in ancient China, and evolved gradually over more than a thousand years, reaching its mature form in the 13th century during the Song Dynasty. Early forms of Chinese drama are simple, but over time they incorporated various art forms, such as music, song and dance, martial arts, acrobatics, as well as literary art forms to become Chinese opera.[1]
There are numerous regional branches of Chinese opera, of which the Beijing opera (Jingju) is one of the most notable.


Thinking Aloud – Still the biggest photo-blog on Wayang or Chinese Opera in 2014 – The Chinese Year of the Horse? Yes, it was no horsing around last year of 2014 as I added another few hundreds of Wayang photographs to my archives though the number of Chinese Opera Troupes are slightly fewer in numbers.
PHS ArmenianSt 026

Leave a Reply

