My late uncle Tan Choon Toh’s funeral ( Part 2 )   4 comments



My late uncle Tan Choon Toh’s funeral ( Part 2 )
I attended my late uncle Tan Choon Toh’s funeral at Reservoir Gardens, Ayer Itam, Penang this afternoon. As my uncle has a full life even when he became blind many years back, he led a full happy life with the immediate family members. I am extremely grateful to him and my Aunty for taking care of my younger son, Chuan Shin, when he was a baby way back in 1979. My late wife told we were eternally grateful to the Tan Family for the devoted and loving care given to my younger son then. Thank you. Chuan Shin showing his gratitude also turned up on his own accord from Kuala Lumpur for the funeral. You might notice that there were smiling faces more than sorrowful faces in this series of photographs, though sometimes we were just overwhelmed by emotions that we shall miss this great man in future that we wept.
After a short procession of sending off, we were bused to Batu Gantong Crematorium where my late uncle was cremated. It was a busy day at this crematorium as many deaths in George Town were recorded in the haze caused by huge peat fires from Indonesia. Luckily my uncle’s time schedule was quicker and can be cremated here. If not, the hearse needed to be transported to another crematorium in Mount Erksine for cremation.
Rest in Peace, my Sar Te’ow (Third Maternal Uncle).
SP Lim

Buddha: “The secret of health for both mind and body is not to mourn for the past, worry about the future, or anticipate troubles, but to live in the present moment wisely and earnestly.”

“Even death is not to be feared by one who has lived wisely.” – Buddha

4 responses to “My late uncle Tan Choon Toh’s funeral ( Part 2 )

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. He was a great man indeed!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for your inspired opinion.

    Like

Leave a Reply

