My Old Family Photographs   2 comments


My Old Family Photographs
This is the time of year that I feel nostalgic about my past and my family. I wanted for a while to write my past family history but did not get around to it as I was procrastinating and too lazy to pound at the keyboard as usual. Anyway today is the last day of November of 2015 and 31 more days we shall see the light of another new Year of 2016. A Happy New Year 2016 ? Doubtful, with the present unstable world and local political situation that are occurring. Politics aside, we have the climatic problems so we live for the present and worry later for the unforeseeable future. The story of my family started with my father Lim Khuat Seng and later adopted another alias of Lim Wooi Boon when the Japanese invaded Malaya during the Second World War. As he was sort of “black-marked” as a student of Chung Ling High School, he had to change his name and stopped schooling. Some students of the school and other bodies were captured by the Japanese and interrogated. Some were executed and the luckier ones were imprisoned. Back to my parents’ marriage which took place in Sungai Bakap, Province Wellesley on mainland Penang State. Then, Sungai Bakap or now better as Jawi was a small village. My mother, Tea Siew Yam, is the second elder sister in the family of Teh Ban Bee, my maternal grandfather. I better refresh my memory with my mother as I cannot inter-relate the part that my father was born in Sungai Petani, Kedah or George Town, Penang. To be continued after more interviews.

SP Lim


Nostalgia is a sentimentality for the past, typically for a period or place with happy personal associations. The word nostalgia is a learned formation of a Greek compound, consisting of νόστος (nóstos), meaning “homecoming”, a Homeric word, and ἄλγος (álgos), meaning “pain, ache”, and was coined by a 17th-century medical student to describe the anxieties displayed by Swiss mercenaries fighting away from home. Described as a medical condition—a form of melancholy—in the Early Modern period, it became an important trope in Romanticism.[1]

Nostalgia can refer to a general interest in the past, its personalities, and events, especially the “good old days” from one’s earlier life.

The scientific literature on nostalgia usually refers to nostalgia regarding the personal life and has mainly studied the effects of nostalgia induced during the studies. Smell and touch are strong evokers of nostalgia due to the processing of these stimuli first passing through the amygdala, the emotional seat of the brain. These recollections of one’s past are usually important events, people one cares about, and places where one has spent time. Music and weather can also be strong triggers of nostalgia. Nostalgic preferences, the belief that the past was better than is the present, has been linked to biases in memory.

Inserted by SP Lim from Wikipedia
1-image14

2 responses to “My Old Family Photographs

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. always enjoy looking at old family photos shows life Life is Good jackie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the kind comment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

