Photo 101 : Day Four: Bliss & Captions   Leave a comment


Day Four: Bliss & Captions

What is your idea of bliss? Is it an image of your family, laughing at the dinner table? A state of total relaxation, while lying on the beach? Your latest painting, drying on the canvas?

Bliss – My Photography and Music

These are my blissful objects – my Canon DSLR’s EOS 400D and 40D triggering my photography passion. I had been taking film photography from my school days but was never passion with it. During the course of my work as a Sales Manager, I had taken a lot of merchandising and display photographs of high traffic outlets and retail stores. It is only after retirement and the passing away of my late wife that I took photography more passionately and seriously but at a late age. Anyhow I enjoy photography and always perfect my skills to the maximum of my limited ability.

My other passion that brings bliss into my life is music. When I am young I was given piano lessons but stopped after a year as I was not interested. However, I continued to listen to radio of pop songs and later graduated to jazz fusion. My late wife and my sister are music teachers of piano and electronic organ. Probably I has a reasonably large collection of more than 600 CD’s of Jazz in every streams. My music CD’s of Pop Music and Jazz is my other passion.

Both are my blissful passion at my retired age.

SP Lim
Aged photographer and music lover.

Cameras and Compact Dics.

These are my blissful objects – my Canon DSLR’s EOS 400D and 40D triggering my photography passion. My music from my collection of CD’s of Pop Music and Jazz is my other passion.

Day Four: Bliss & Captions

Bliss: complete happiness, great joy, paradise, or heaven.

WordPress.com editor Cheri loves writing and thinking about the objects of our analog past, so this vintage Underwood typewriter, on display outside of a coffee shop, is an image of bliss for her:

Photo: not included

An Underwood typewriter, on display in Sebastopol, California.
Publish an image that represents bliss to you.

Today’s Tip: Do you see the short description underneath the photo? That’s called a caption. Captions are optional fields that provide more information about your images, like the location, the date it was taken, and other details.

Add a caption to your image of bliss. To do this, click on the image in your Media Library, where you’ll find all of your blog’s images. There, you can edit different fields. For the Caption, a short description — no more than a line or two — is perfect!

Notice the other fields? They’re optional too, but feel free to fill these in if you’d like. Update the Title of the image so it’s identifiable, and add a brief description in the Alt Text field, which controls the text that might replace the image on slow-loading sites, or for readers using assistive technology. Lastly, add text to the Description field if you’d like to display accompanying text on the image’s attachment page.

Remember, the official course tag is photo101 (one word, no space). Don’t forget to tag your posts so we can find your submissions in the Reader!

Cheers,
Josh R. and the WordPress.com Team

Leave a Reply

