Photo 101 ~ Day Sixteen: Treasure & Close-up   2 comments


Day Sixteen: Treasure & Close-up

In our developing country, there are no treasures of exceptional materialistic value. As for myself, my treasure chest is my dry box of my photographic equipment of my DSLR Cameras, Lenses, Flashes, and other useful photographic appliances. This is due to my passion for photography after my retirement. Apart from these treasures, my photo archives of many photographs produced by these photographic equipment, is also my treasure. I did not take any close-up for this assignment as I just zoom in using a 17 – 40 mm lens and no macro lens was used.

SP Lim

Photo 101 Day 16

My treasure chest is my dry box of my photographic equipment of my DSLR Cameras, Lenses, Flashes, and other useful photographic appliances

*************************************************************************************************************************************************

Day Sixteen: Treasure & Close-up

In the absence of a wooden chest full of gold doubloons, any object or experience that is deeply meaningful can be a treasure. Items, places, people — we all cherish something, or someone.

What’s your treasure? Perhaps you found a coat at the thrift store like the one your grandfather wore, or took a once-in-a-lifetime trip through the Himalaya. Maybe you treasure your children, or your cat, or a quiet space in the woods. Show us an image that represents a treasure to you.

Today’s Tip: Get close to your subject — either use the zoom function in your camera, if it has one, or physically move closer to it.

Often, our goal is to capture as much of the scene as we can. Zooming in (or focusing on) a particular detail can produce a beautiful image and help you tell a more interesting story.

When I first photographed this tart, I stood above the table and captured the entire thing on a platter. But when I squatted to get up close and personal, a prim rectangle of cream and fruit transformed into a luscious, glistening pile of jewels heaped on a pillowy bed. The first version was nice, but this one created a mood — all because I crouched a little.

Photo – not included

We tend to take photos from the same vantage points: a landscape from far away, or an ensemble of friends where everyone’s bodies are in the shot. In my case, a plate of food so that the entire dish is visible.

Today, zoom in. Get close. Show us the twinkle in your son’s eye. A glint of gold. One perfect flower in the garden. Show us your treasure.

Cheers,
Josh R. and the WordPress.com Team

2 responses to “Photo 101 ~ Day Sixteen: Treasure & Close-up

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’d love to know more about photography. Keep posting! ❤

    Like

    • Though I am not an expert, you can learn by looking at the experts’ photographs with the settings of the camera. Learn by emulating these professional photographers. Welcome to the World of Photography.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

