Weekly Photo Challenge ~ Abstract – From the Salad Bowl   17 comments


Weekly Photo Challenge ~ Abstract – From the Salad Bowl
Abstract
This week, turn the concrete and familiar into something new and mysterious.

BY BEN HUBERMAN

ABSTRACT ~ From the Salad Bowl

My Entry is ” From the Salad Bowl ” showing the sliced pieces of the violet-coloured lettuce vegetables inside. I had the opportunity of taking this photograph as we were having our class-mates monthly luncheon at a local hotel. This salad bowl with the violet/purple-coloured vegetable slices, was from the salad section of the buffet luncheon spread of food offered for that day. Only cropping and some colour saturation were added to the original photograph.

SP Lim

Abstract

Weekly Photo Challenge – Abstract ~ From the Salad Bowl showing the sliced pieces of the violet-coloured lettuce vegetables inside.

The best thing about being nearsighted? It’s sometimes enough for me to take off my glasses and squint to see the world as a hazy canvas — one on which an abstract expressionist painter threw wild splotches of color. My brain gives me a break for a moment, not forcing me to see specific objects and people but rather shapes, compositions, and textures.

Sometimes I like going for the same effect with my phone’s camera — snapping a picture either so close or so far from an object that it stops being what I’d normally see it as.

WPC Abstract

I was recently struck by the gorgeous composition I saw on the trunk of a chestnut tree near my house, from the crevices in the bark to the changing density of lichen (I think it’s lichen — botanists, forgive me!). I drew closer, and for all ends and purposes this was no longer a tree.

This week, find your own (proverbial?) chestnut tree. Point your camera at something familiar and turn it into something else. Whether it’s a wall in your house, a friend’s arm, or a billboard seen from afar, we may or may not recognize what it actually is. But we’ll certainly discover something else about it in the process.

I look forward to seeing your take on abstract photography!

BY BEN HUBERMAN

*************************************************************************************************************************************************
Abstract

#################################################################################################################################################

17 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge ~ Abstract – From the Salad Bowl

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This really is a work of art: it takes an artist’s eye to see what a picture that would become!

    Like

  2. Colour is beautiful !

    Like

  3. Bark and lichen/moss is always nice.

    Like

  4. Woah.. I may never eat salad again… very abstract colours

    Like

  5. Pingback: Abstract (Epitaph) | What's (in) the picture?

  6. radical red cabbage

    Like

  7. “link to the prompt in your post,” is what you said in daily posts for posting on scars. Plz guide how do I do it. I’m new here and not well versed in blogging nitty gritties

    Like

  8. I did not know how to link my post with a prompt to daily post… Pingbacks… But now I know as Ben huberman clearly explained it 😊. Thanks for helping out

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Would love to have some people go review my blogs!! Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

