The Hakka Clay Buildings of YongDing, Fujian, People’s Republic of China   Leave a comment


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This is my second visit to these Hakka Clay Buildings since my last one in 2007. My take on these Hakka Clay Buildings is that this place has become too commercialized and too exploited for local and foreign tourists. I really enjoyed the relaxed manner when I visited the place in 2007 and we even had a Hakka-cuisine lunch in the circular Hakka Clay Building itself. Now, it has become a “shopping centre” with tea-houses and souvenir shops in every nook and corner. We have to pay entrance which I feel is all right as money is needed to maintain the place. A Hakka Tourist Guide is compulsory and perhaps adding extra employment to the local people. However, we are forbidden to climb to the first and secong floor of these Hakka Buildings especially the bigger ones. This is indeed a deep disappointment to me as a photographer! In 2007 we had lovely photographs of the circular Hakka Clay Building but for this 2011 trip, I did a series of “lame” photographs with the interesting angle of the building missing as one could get to go the first and second floors as in 2007. Anywhere, enjoy these photos while it last as we can still visit these places. In addition to add to my woes, it was raining quite heavily with gloomy lighting.

SP Lim

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.