Archive for March 10, 2016

Photo 101 : Day Four: Bliss & Captions   Leave a comment


Day Four: Bliss & Captions

What is your idea of bliss? Is it an image of your family, laughing at the dinner table? A state of total relaxation, while lying on the beach? Your latest painting, drying on the canvas?

Bliss – My Photography and Music

These are my blissful objects – my Canon DSLR’s EOS 400D and 40D triggering my photography passion. I had been taking film photography from my school days but was never passion with it. During the course of my work as a Sales Manager, I had taken a lot of merchandising and display photographs of high traffic outlets and retail stores. It is only after retirement and the passing away of my late wife that I took photography more passionately and seriously but at a late age. Anyhow I enjoy photography and always perfect my skills to the maximum of my limited ability.

My other passion that brings bliss into my life is music. When I am young I was given piano lessons but stopped after a year as I was not interested. However, I continued to listen to radio of pop songs and later graduated to jazz fusion. My late wife and my sister are music teachers of piano and electronic organ. Probably I has a reasonably large collection of more than 600 CD’s of Jazz in every streams. My music CD’s of Pop Music and Jazz is my other passion.

Both are my blissful passion at my retired age.

SP Lim
Aged photographer and music lover.

Cameras and Compact Dics.

These are my blissful objects – my Canon DSLR’s EOS 400D and 40D triggering my photography passion. My music from my collection of CD’s of Pop Music and Jazz is my other passion.

Day Four: Bliss & Captions

Bliss: complete happiness, great joy, paradise, or heaven.

WordPress.com editor Cheri loves writing and thinking about the objects of our analog past, so this vintage Underwood typewriter, on display outside of a coffee shop, is an image of bliss for her:

Photo: not included

An Underwood typewriter, on display in Sebastopol, California.
Publish an image that represents bliss to you.

Today’s Tip: Do you see the short description underneath the photo? That’s called a caption. Captions are optional fields that provide more information about your images, like the location, the date it was taken, and other details.

Add a caption to your image of bliss. To do this, click on the image in your Media Library, where you’ll find all of your blog’s images. There, you can edit different fields. For the Caption, a short description — no more than a line or two — is perfect!

Notice the other fields? They’re optional too, but feel free to fill these in if you’d like. Update the Title of the image so it’s identifiable, and add a brief description in the Alt Text field, which controls the text that might replace the image on slow-loading sites, or for readers using assistive technology. Lastly, add text to the Description field if you’d like to display accompanying text on the image’s attachment page.

Remember, the official course tag is photo101 (one word, no space). Don’t forget to tag your posts so we can find your submissions in the Reader!

Cheers,
Josh R. and the WordPress.com Team

Penang is ‘second best place in the world to retire’ by Condé Nast Traveller Travel Magazine   7 comments


1-ICPEP 2016 075

FloralFest 2015 030

Hindu Temple 022

Khoo Kongsi Lights 008

City Day 2015 356

From The Star Online of Malaysia:-

NationHome > News > Nation
Monday, 7 March 2016 | MYT 1:40 PM

Travel magazine says Penang is ‘second best place in the world to retire’

BY JOASH EE DE SILVA

PETALING JAYA: Penang has been named as the second “best place in the world to retire” by travel magazine Condé Nast Traveller.

The island was the only destination from Asia to be featured in the top 10 list of its online caption story written by Cynthia Drescher on March 3.

Drescher said the Malaysian Government’s My Second Home visa, which lasts for 10 years, was easy to apply.

“Once you’re in, head to Penang for the best of the country’s culinary offerings, historic architecture, a thriving art scene, international-standard health care, and an English-speaking community of expats,” she wrote.

She also highlighted that the island’s capital George Town was a Unesco world heritage site.

Drescher also said it was quick to get to Kuala Lumpur, Singapore and Langkawi from there.

CNNMoney picked George Town as the sixth “best place to retire abroad in 2016” in a Jan 6 report by Katie Lobosco.

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2016/03/07/travel-magazine-says-penang-is-second-best-place-in-the-world-to-retire/

Birthdays Galore 011

CantoneseWayang Night 3 269

It was selfish of me not to comment further on this post as laziness and following closely on Photo 101. I was catching up on reading the blogs and clicking. However, this cannot be done consistently due to the speed of the internet as 40% of the time, I could not even load some of the blogs. So, I must make do with the speed I have at home. I had said to myself not to comment on the politics of the country but one simply ignore what is happening to us – the citizen.

In Malaysia, the government always boastful of being “fastest” internet speed in Asia, etc. etc but this is not true due to poor administration and corruption. The internet speed in Malaysia is even slower than that in Vietnam and Thailand from recent newspaper reports. In my case in Penang, the speed is even worse than those in the Federal Capital of Kuala Lumpur. We pay about US$40.00 per month to use the internet.

The slower current speed in Malaysia is due to the undersea cable off Singapore connecting United States, Northern Asia, Europe, etc is damaged. It shall only be repaired in one month’s time. Just wondering, why there is no urgency in this matter?

Back to my original intent, Penang is a State in Malaysia consisting of Penang Island and a strip on the mainland Peninsula of Malaya. It is multiracial, multicultural, multireligious, and multilingual so a “melting pot” of Malays, Chinese, Indians, Ibans, Dayaks and many other races due to earlier immigration.

SP Lim

PASS Concert 002

Union Kathina 084

From Wikipedia:-

Penang is a state in Malaysia located on the northwest coast of Peninsular Malaysia, by the Strait of Malacca.

Penang state is bordered by Kedah in the north and east, and Perak in the south. It is composed of two parts — Penang Island, where the seat of government is, and Seberang Perai (formerly Province Wellesley in English) on the Malay Peninsula.

Highly urbanised and industrialised, Penang is one of the most developed and economically important states in the country, as well as a thriving tourist destination. Penang has the third-highest Human Development Index in Malaysia, after the state of Selangor and the federal territory of Kuala Lumpur. Its heterogeneous population is highly diverse in ethnicity, culture, language and religion. A resident of Penang is colloquially known as a Penangite (in English),Penang lang (in the local Penang Hokkien dialect) or a Penangkaran (In Tamil)

More on Penang here:-
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Penang

City Day 2015 464

City Day 2015 537